Halloween in November

No one lives forever

Life as we know it and as we perceive it can do a complete turnaround in literally a second.

(4/11/2020) What I thought would just be a normal Wednesday night made a slight turn to the left. I was just about to settle in with a cup of coffee, Netflix and some in-between banter between Janeane and myself when I received a phone call from Jacquie needing a blood pressure cuff. I put the phone down and had the most incredible feeling of losing all control and an electrifying pain from behind my ear round my head and into my nose, I tried lifting my arm to my face as I felt I might have a nosebleed coming but could not lift it. I heard Janeane calling Dad telling him something was wrong with me and next thing I knew Dad was standing in front of me asking me to do certain things which I could not do and it aggravated me more. I remember shaking my head from side to side because I did not want him touching my face and kept trying to assure him, I was fine. The episode lasted a few seconds and then passed. I was slightly disorientated but knew what was going on around me. Jax and Michael Boukes came over and whilst they used the cuff Dad put it on me as well. My BP was slightly higher than normal but nothing to be alarmed about.

On Thursday 5/11/2020 all was well, and I went about my normal day at school although I was extremely sleepy the whole day. Just needed a good night’s rest. On Friday 6/11/2020 I quickly got all my data and duties done and by 12 pm walked down towards the hall where we a Birthday Lunch for Mr Marallich the Headmaster of the school.

At some stage during lunch I turned to Kitty next to me and said that the food I ate had a tin foil taste. She was quite shocked that I would describe her food as having a “taste”. She asked me if I had been drinking the night before as I was slightly slurring. No I most definitely had not. After lunch I remember getting up and walking back towards my cubicle at the school gate but at some point had to grab onto the fence next to me as my legs would not carry me and my head was spinning. I lost control of my bladder and in the distance heard someone asking if I was okay whilst slumped against the fence. I tried to lift my arm to call them to come help me but no one came. Once I reached the cubicle and found my phone, I called Cassondra who told me to stay put and wait but before I knew it I was in my car on the Highway heading to the Dr. Cassondra was furious with me and with good reason as I could have killed myself or someone else on the road.

From the time I got to the Dr’s and admitted to hospital I don’t remember much but here by the grace of God I am.

Leave a comment